Gmail Tip #14: What Happens To Sent Messages?

When you “send” a message, two things happen to it: 1. it gets copied into your “All Mail” view, and 2. it is visible in the “Sent Mail” view. Many email clients and Webmail services let you optionally delete all sent messages by default, but Gmail doesn’t offer this feature. Here’s why… One of Gmail’s intentions is to get you out of the “trash everything” mindset. This is one of the reasons why they offer 1GB of storage. Providing this extra space gives you the ability to leverage features such as “Search”, “Labels”, and “Conversations”. Most email services limit us to a very small storage space, so we have to continually delete old messages to allow room for new ones. The problem is that though there are definitely many messages that should be permanently deleted, many are important enough to us that we may need or want to keep them […]

Gmail Tip #13: Some More About Conversations

I covered this partially in another tip, but I feel it is important to repeat it. One of Gmail’s excellent features is its “Conversations”. Conversations conveniently organize related messages, but this can be potentially dangerous if you don’t understand how to manage both conversations and individual messages. If you aren’t paying attention, you can inadvertently Trash an entire conversation instead of just a single message. First off, you need to determine if the message is a single message or part of a conversation. While viewing a list of messages (for example, “Inbox”) look in the first column on the left of the message listing. A conversation is indicated by some number in parenthesis ie: “(3)” next to Sender’s name. The number represents the number of messages associated with this conversation. If you click the checkbox in front of the message and select an action, (ie: “Move to Trash”, “Mark as […]

Gmail Tip #12: Archiving Explained

One concept that’s sometimes a bit unclear to new Gmail users is that of “Archiving” messages. I’m not refering to the hype and false assertions of pundits who claim things like “Gmail keeps everything you ever send and receive!” and “Gmail archives your messages forever!” No, I’m refering to the “Archive” button in your Inbox view. Just what is it for, and what does it do? Plain and simple, clicking Gmail’s “Archive” button simply means that the message gets moved out of your Inbox–nothing more, nothing less. It’s a convenient and slick way to manage your Inbox. But just what happens to the message? If you applied a Label to the message and then click “Archive” button, the message will no longer be visible in the Inbox. It will be visible in the applied Label view as well as the “All Mail” view. If no Label was applied, it is […]

Gmail Tip #11: Connecting Securely

Unlike many other Web-based email providers, Gmail offers an SSL-encrypted login by default. This means that your Gmail password is always encrypted when it is sent over the Internet. Secure HTTPS access is also available by going to directly. This is just another way that Gmail ensures your privacy and security!

Gmail Tip #10: Some Tips about Conversations

Conversations are very handy. They group related emails letting you easily track what was sent and to whom it was sent. One thing that you might overlook is that is that you need to remember that when you perform an action on a conversation such as “Print”, “Move to Trash”, or “Report as Spam”, you are affecting ALL messages in the conversation. If you want to affect only one of the messages, select or expand the message and click on the “More options” link. This will bring up a sub-menu with options specific to that message. One other thing to note is that Conversations are not perfect. By this, I mean that sometimes (but not always), if you have unrelated emails with the same subject, they sometimes get grouped together in the same conversation. Currently, there is no way to manually “ungroup” unrelated messages. Likewise, there is currently no way […]

Gmail Tip #9: New Mail Notification!

One often asked for feature has been some sort of automatic notification. Some suggestions ahve been integrating a button tn the Google Toolbar. Another was some sort of System Tray icon. Well, Gmail gave us a notification method that actually works very well… Open your Gmail account and look at both the “Title” of your web browser as well as the “Button” in the Task Bar. It now shows something like “Gmail – Inbox (2)” where the “2” is the number of new emails you have. Because Gmail auto-updates periodically, this will update was well. Very cool! This works in IE, FireFox, Safari, and maybe others.

Gmail Tip #8: Working With Lots Of Emails

There are some idiosyncracies that you should understand when working with large numbers of messages. Read more for a couple pointers… If you are working with a large number of emails, (more than will fit on one screen “page”) be sure to remember that checking “All” doesn’t check all messages in the category you are viewing, but only those visible on the current page. So, if you have three pages of messages, only the first page will be affected if you click “All”.

Gmail Tip #7: Quickly Addressing A Message

Want to know a quick way to address another Gmail user? Read more to find out! Did you know that you can send an email to another Gmail user by just entering their username into either the TO, CC, or BCC fields when you Compose a message? You do not need to type the rest of the “” address! Simple end elegant!

Gmail Tip #6: Define a Signature!

When Gmail was first released to Beta, it was missing the ability to create an automatically appended “Signature”. Well, after beta tester feedback Gmail has added the feature! Read how to define it… Go into “Settings” and click the radio button next to the edit box in the Signatire section. Next, enter any text you want to have included in all outgoing messages! Makes things simpler and more professional!

Sony to Suspend Clie Handheld Line

According to a Palm Infocenter article, Sony is “suspending” it’s Clie PDAs, not releaseing any new models to the US market this Fall. This hits hard to many CLie devotees. Despite the news, the Sony Clie NX topics here on will continue to exist. Unfortunatly, I haven’t added much new content simply because I had to move to a Palm Tungsten T3 because of our company’s “no cameras” policy. At the time, all of the decent high-end Clies had integrated cameras eliminating them as viable choices.