Gmail Tip #42: A More Worldly View

Posted: April 14, 2005

Parlez-vous fran?ais? Sprechen Sie Deutsch? Or if you read any of 11 newly supported languages, you will feel right at home with Gmail. In addition to English, Gmail now supports Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, and UK English. (Sorry, no Klingon.) If you want to experience Gmail in one of these languages, read on for simple instructions to make the change...

Simply click on the "Settings" link at the upper right of any Gmail page. Look toward the middle of the page, and you will find a dropdown selector labeled "Gmail display language". Pick your desired language, and click on the "Save Changes" button at the bottom. When the screen refreshes, you will be presented with the familiar Gmail screen, just with the new language integrated throughout the interface.

While many understand multiple languages, I am sorry to say that I am only fluent in one...

Complete Collections

These are full collections of a couple topics that might be useful.

Gmail Tips: Complete Collection

Masonic Tips: Complete Collection

PC Magazine Top site

Jim is proud to have had his site included as one of PC Magazine’s “99 Undiscovered Web Sites” in their list of “Top Web Sites of 2006“. These sites were described as:
"...sites that are flying under the radar, but are useful, funny, or interesting enough to merit entrée into the Web's public consciousness."
- PC Magazine, 2006
By Kyle Monson
"This exhaustive Gmail tips site has all sorts of hints and tricks to help you get the most out of the free mail service. The site is run by Jim of Jim's Tips, and if it doesn't quench your thirst for shortcuts, go to his main page ( for more mobile- and Web-application tricks."
- PC Magazine, 2006
copyright © 2022 Jim's Tips